Press one of the expand buttons to see the full text of an article. Later press collapse to revert to the original form. The buttons below expand or collapse all articles.



CAS Lawyer Becomes Judge

January 19, 2014 permalink

Ontario has appointed Lynda Susan Ross to be a judge. She has past experience working for Toronto Children's Aid and the Office of the Children's Lawyer.




New Judge Appointed to the Ontario Court of Justice

Ontario has appointed a new judge to the Ontario Court of Justice. Justice Lynda Susan Ross has been assigned by Chief Justice Annemarie E. Bonkalo to preside in Windsor, effective January 29, 2014.

Justice Ross was called to the Bar in 1991. Following a year as a staff lawyer for Children's Aid of Toronto, Justice Ross joined the practice of Hartrick and Associates of Toronto, focussing on family and child protection litigation. In 1993, she became a member of the legal panel of the Office of the Children's Lawyer and, in 1995, established a practice as a sole practitioner, working in all areas of family law. She has practiced collaborative family law and has been a child protection mediator, providing services to Children's Aid Societies and courts in Toronto, Peel and others. Justice Ross is also a member of Legal Aid Ontario's Mental Health and Domestic Violence panels.

Justice Ross has been a board member and volunteer with Ernestine's Women's Shelter. She has volunteered with Second Harvest in Toronto and the Youth Justice Committee of Peel. In addition, she is a board member of the John Howard Society for Halton/Dufferin/Peel.

Source: Province of Ontario

Addendum: Canada Court Watch reports Ontario Continues to Pack Courts with Children’s Aid Society Affiliates (pdf). A table summarizes judges appointed with CAS service on their vitas:

judge appointment
Lynda Susan Ross January 29, 2014
Katherine Stacy Neill December 25, 2013.
Kathleen Baker May 8, 2013
Manjusha Pawagi January 28, 2009
Edward (Ted) Gareau June 22, 2009
Kevin Sherwood November 1, 2010
Jane Hatton August 6, 2010
Nathalie Gregson December 1, 2008
Roselyn Zisman March 30, 2007
Margaret McSorley December 15, 2003
Robert Rogerson December 15, 2003
justice of the peace appointment
Claire Thérèse Robinson Winchester May 25, 2011
Cristina M Almeida Santos July 28, 2011
Anna Marie Hampson October 13, 2010
Abdul Ali Chahbar October 14, 2009
Ana Cristina Costa March 4, 2009
Ernest Parsons July 11, 2007
Rhonda Shousterman May 30, 2007